Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1981 Fishing Machine 1800, first boat

Hello GlasPly community,

I picked up my first boat yesterday. It is a 1981 Fishing Machine 1800 with a 115hp Merc. This boat was only recently pulled out of the bushes at my buddy's property, where it has been sitting for the past 7ish years. It is in need of some love, and I'm looking forward to the process. Prior to my current business, my background is in custom car audio & security and vehicle customization, so I'm excited for this project. I only know what I have read about this boat in the last 24hrs, so I am definitely green on the the topic.

Any information on the boat, tips on what to look for as I bring her back to her former glory (with a few updates), would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.
    Attached Files

You’ve definitely got your work cut out for ya! What are your plans for it? Other than cleaning it up and such.

If it sat the way it is in the picture for all that time, it looks bow-down so rainwater would have accumulated in the forward end.

By 1981 they were building them with fiberglass stringers, so you may want to pull the plywood floor out, lift the bow up high and scoop out some foam (that the factory would have installed under the floor) at the very back all the way down to the inside of the hull. Water will trickle down to that hole you scooped out and you can drain it out that way. The foam will probably be okay once you let the water work its way out.

You could probably expect to have to replace the fuel tank, assuming it’s aluminum. There will probably be some thin spots, if not holes, from corrosion over the years. The risk of gasoline leaking under the floor is not something you want to risk, so inspect the tank carefully at the very least.