Head problems (?) with 470 and slowing starter

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Head problems (?) with 470 and slowing starter

I'm working on putting a new(er) 470 in my blue 19 foot monster, trying to do most of the work myself to save money and learning as I go....

I found a 470 motor block that seems reasonably OK. The engine had had a head gasket failure, and when I emptied out the oil it was an ugly light beige milky (?) mixture, probably with some water in it. The cylinder walls where without ridges, and it was all moving seemingly ok when I turned the flywheel. Head looked ok, not much carbon deposits, but as you can tell I'm not a mechanic, so I'm feeling my way and have read a lot through the manuals.

I put a new head gasket and torqued it down to 135 ft/lbs, I got help from the local older English boat mechanic and he helped me torque down the rockers on the head (Hydraulic lifters) Doug checked the nothing was sticking and turned the engine over several times to make sure it was ok.

The starter was not doing well on account of being VERY old and mucked up so I bought a new one, that helped a bit but only for a few turns. It seems to me that is should go a way faster with no plugs inserted.

When I put the compression testing gauge in to one of the cylinder the starter had a real hard time turning the engine. It will go 3-4 turns then it slows down to a crawl. Compression is not good: 125, 112, 90, 60 and it did not change when I squirted oil into the cylinders.

I'm speculating that the valves are not lifting properly in the head? And that the rockers are not properly torqued down (to hard or to little?)? Or could there be others things causing this, like in the crankshaft part of the engine?

Your comments/suggestions would be very much appreciated.....

can you grab the balancer and turn it over by hand with the plugs out?