Engine issue/prop?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Engine issue/prop?

Hi everyone I recently bought myself a 17ft glasply. with a Johnson 90hp. I installed a tach and am only turning 3200rpm. I cant seem to find the issue. I have installed all new fuel lines, water separator, anti syphon valve, new plugs,checked high speed and they were not clogged. engine runs good just no performance. oh and compression on engine was very good. the prop size is a 13 1/4 x 17. any ideas. im new to the boating world. this is my first fishing boat.

One thing to check when not running is to move your control to full throttle then look to see if you are getting full open at the carb/carbs.

Comment

thank you

Originally posted by 18ftTrophy View Post
      One thing to check when not running is to move your control to full throttle then look to see if you are getting full open at the carb/carbs.
      Thank you for the reply. Yes I have checked that as well. all is good there

Comment

Propeller May be pitched too high. What is max operating RPM for your motor? Probably one of the Forum members has a similar set up and can give you some advice.
        The cruise liner QE2 moves only six inches for each gallon of diesel fuel that it burns.

1982 28' Long Cabin "Molly Brown" sweating through a long hot summer. Massive California forest fires fill our sky with smoke. SUP paddlers and kayakers transit the harbor with abandon, thinking they have the right of way over all boats.

Comment

Welcome aboard, One2....

Hopefully someone from the Glasply brain bank will chime in with some ideas for you soon!
          -- Tim Taylor

1979 Glasply 21-foot I/O Overnighter w/ 5.0L Volvo-Penta duoprop (Cardinal)
          1982 Glasply 16-foot runabout w/ 50hp Mercury OB (JV Junior)
          1978 Glasply 19-1/2 foot runabout, project boat (Beer Goggles)

I didn't say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.

Comment

Book says 4500-5500

Comment